#872 closed System Defect (wontfix)

PC-BSD Installer does not remember settings

Reported by: joshms Owned by: kris
Priority: minor Milestone:
Component: Installer Version: 10-STABLE
Keywords: Cc: trac-bugs@…

Description

PC-BSD's installer does not remember the settings that have been set. As an example select BSD as your boot loader and force 4k block size and then go through the advanced disk settings until finished. Once done if the user forgets to set their desktop and presses back to go back and change it the settings that have been set in the advanced disk settings will revert to defaults.

Change History (1)

comment:1 Changed 12 months ago by kris

  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

Ok, so I did some checking here. When you go back to the desktop selection screen, it does *not* lose your disk-settings. Its when you click "Customize" on the disk-selection screen that it starts with the defaults again.

This is intentional, since the disk setup is a "wizard" and always starts at the first page, I.E. basic / advanced / expert, and at that point we don't carry over settings, since many of them are invalid depending upon which mode is selected in the wizard.

However, if you finish the wizard, the disk summary will show your changes, and that will not be lost when you go back to desktop selection, and come forward again.

If we ever update the installer to replace the wizard with a disk dialog, then we will convert it to preserve settings across multiple runs of the dialog.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.